Chained

 

 

https://hiveminer.com/Tags/shackles%2Ctorture/Recent

Rain and shine

the water was divine

there was fire in my soul

they had encompassed me whole

 

I only wished to see, to say, to show

the lonely nature of my foe

long gone was my spine

a coward stood before me

 

fleeing in the dead of night

a face hidden by shadows and a deadly fright

there was no end in sight

there was no future before me

 

Life, Laughter, Love

gone to a deadly poison the mind alight

In terrifying fright

once again the end was no where in sight

 

Waiting, Watching, Wanting

I couldn’t help but see

there was more to me

but there was no one to see

 

Falling, Failing, Fearing

I couldn’t do it

the coward I see

stuck in the mirror in front of me

 

I couldn’t flee

wishing to light my face without the dark

I wished to see the end

there was no end for me

 

I only wished to know, to say, to show

my foe had gotten the best of me

broken and spineless

a lonely fool stood in front of me

 

Fires and lies

they had no hold on me

my soul was alight in failing might

the light was swallowing me whole

 

https://hiveminer.com/Tags/shackles%2Ctorture/Recent


This poem was made from a feeling of loneliness that goes away and sometimes doesn’t. This was something that can go into determination or anger, it feels like shackles. Writing about an emotion like this, makes it easy to turn into something vague and something big and scary to something not big and scary. Either way its good material.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *